Skip to main content

The Mental Health and Emergency Services Memorandum of Agreement between South Australian Police (SAPOL), South Australian Ambulance Service (SAAS), Royal Flying Doctor Service and SA Health establishes an agreed framework to ensure that people who have a mental illness or mental disorder or who show behaviours of concern can receive a response by multiple agencies and receive safe transport and timely access to assessment and treatment services. 

Patient Assistance Request Transport Protocols are an addition to the Mental Health and Emergency Services Memorandum of Agreement.  The Patient Assistance Request Protocols give guidance on the way this optional power under the Mental Health Act 2009 can be exercised.